Guidelines for Bolivia Visa

How to apply for Bolivia visa? - Everything you need to know!

Choose photo

What is a Bolivia visa?

Bolivia Visa is a document, which permits you to enter Bolivia and to stay there as long as it’s allowed – it depends on the type of visa. It allows you to enter and depart Bolivia, if you are a foreign citizen. Bolivian Visa may be issued only by an Bolivian embassy or consulate (before the arrival), but there are also two other options: visa on arrival and e-visa online.

Do you need a visa for Bolivia?

Bolivia visa policy depends on the country you are from. The Government of Bolivia divides applicants into 3 categories. You don’t need a visa to enter Bolivia for a stay of 90 days, if you are from a first category country. If you are from a second or third group, you have to get a visa before entering Bolivia.

Group 1

European Union countries (except for Bulgaria, Cyprus, Malta and Romania); Andorra; Argentina*; Australia; Brazil*; Canada; Chile*; Colombia*; Costa Rica; Ecuador*; Iceland; Israel; Japan; Liechtenstein; Mexico; Monaco; New Zealand; Norway; Palestine; Panama; Paraguay*; Peru*; Philippines; Russia; Switzerland; Turkey; United Kingdom; United States; Uruguay*; Vatican City; Venezuela*. *May also enter Bolivia with only an ID card. In this case you don’t need a visa to enter Bolivia for up to 30 days (visit can be extended free of charge to 90 days).

Group 2

Albania; Algeria; Antigua and Barbuda; Armenia; Azerbaijan; Bahamas; Bahrain; Bangladesh; Barbados; Belarus; Belize; Benin; Bosnia – Herzegovina; Botswana; Brunei; Bulgaria; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cameroon; Cape Verde; Central African Republic; China; Comoros; Cuba; Cyprus; Darussalam; Djibouti; Dominica; Dominican Republic; Egypt; El Salvador; Equatorial Guinea; Eritrea; Ethiopia; Fiji; Gabon; Gambia; Georgia; Ghana; Granada; Guatemala; Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Guyana; Haiti; Honduras; India; Iran; Ivory Coast; Jamaica; Jordan; Kazakhstan; Kenya; Kiribati; Kuwait; Kyrgyzstan; Lebanon; Lesotho; Liberia; Macedonia; Madagascar; Malawi; Malaysia; Maldives; Mali; Malta; Marshall Islands; Mauritania; Mauritius; Micronesia; Moldova; Mongolia; Montenegro; Morocco; Mozambique; Myanmar; Namibia; Nauru; Nepal; Nicaragua; Niger; Oman; Palau; Papua New Guinea; Qatar; Republic Of Korea; Romania; Russia; Saint Kitts and Nevis; Saint Vincent and the Grenadines; Samoa; San Marino; Santa Lucia; Sao Tome and Principe; Saudi Arabia; Senegal; Serbia; Seychelles; Sierra Leone; Singapore; Solomon Islands; South Africa; Sri Lanka; Surinam; Swaziland; Tajikistan; Thailand; Togo; Tonga; Trinidad and Tobago; Tunisia; Turkmenistan; Tuvalu; Uganda; Ukraine; United Arab Emirates; United Republic of Tanzania; Uzbekistan; Vanuatu; Vietnam; Zambia; Zimbabwe; Citizens of countries in Group 2 must obtain a visa prior to arrival or on arrival.

Group 3

Afghanistan; Angola; Bhutan; Camboya; Chad; The Democratic Republic of Congo; Indonesia; Iraq; Israel; Democratic People’s Republic of Korea; Laos; Libya; Nigeria; Pakistan; Rwanda; Somalia; Sudan; Syria; Timor Leste; Yemen. If you are from one of the following countries, you have to apply for a Bolivian visa at an Embassy or Consulate of Bolivia abroad. In this case you are required to obtain further authorization from the National Migration Service in Bolivia.

Bolivia visa exemptions / how to travel without a visa?

Citizens from 53 countries from 1 group of countries can enter Bolivia without a visa for a period of 90 days. No visa is required for holders of diplomatic or service passports of any country. Another exemption from visa applies to holders of passports for public affairs issued by China.

Bolivia Visa types

There can be numerous reasons for you to go to Bolivia and this is why the Government of Bolivia created a lot of different types of Bolivia Visas:

  • Bolivia Tourist Visa
  • Bolivia Student Visa
  • Temporary Residence Visa
  • Specific Purpose Visa
  • Multiple Entry Visa
  • Humanitarian Visa
  • Courtesy Visa
  • Diplomatic Visa

Bolivia Visa Requirements

Most of the requirements are just documents you have to submit, when you want to apply for a Bolivian visa. The most important ones are:

  • Valid passport (with validity of at least next 6 months),
  • Printed Bolivia visa application form, which you completed online (Sworn Statement for Visa Application),
  • Bolivian Visa photo (in electronic format and paper format, because you need to attach the electronic copies on the online application),
  • Proof of accommodation somewhere in Bolivia (hotel reservation or invitation from your host), with the dates of your stay,
  • A copy of the flight ticket,
  • A copy of your bank statements.

How to apply?

Applying for a Bolivia visa at an Embassy or Consulate

First of all you’ve got to contact the nearest Embassy or Consulate in your neighborhood about making an appointment and submitting the application online. Next just find and complete the Sworn Statement for Visa Application (Bolivia visa application form online) and attach all the necessary electronic copies of the needed documents. Then you’ve got to print out the confirmation page, sigh it and pay the required fee. Submit all the documents on the date of your appointment or by mail and wait a couple of days for the visa to process.

Bolivia visa fees

The Bolivia visa fees depends on the country you are from, and even on different immigration offices in Bolivia. A visa on arrival is normally more expensive than a visa obtained from a consulate.

For example:

  • Bolivia tourist visa – 0-$30,
  • Bolivia visa on arrival – up to $150,
  • 60-180 day student visa – $50.

Validation of Bolivia Visa

Normally a Bolivia tourist visa is issued for 30 days, but in almost every case you can apply for an extension up to 90 day before its expiration. US citizens don’t need a visa to enter Bolivia for tourism purposes and they can stay for 30, 60 or 90 days.