Visa-Free Countries for Nepali Passport Holders in 2023

Visa-free countries for Nepali Passport

Nepali citizens can travel to 12 countries in the world visa-free.

Most of these locations are neighboring Nepal, but others are scattered throughout North America, Asia, and Africa. This means that the majority of the world requires inhabitants of Nepal to present a valid visa.

Luckily, there are some easier options such as a visa-on-arrival, an eTA, or an eVisa. They enable Nepali citizens to travel to more than 60 countries!

Read the article to learn about the various destinations where a visa is not required for people with a Nepali passport, as well as places that offer visa alternatives.

In this article regarding world accessibility for Nepali passport owners, you will read about:
Map and chart showing the percentage distribution of visa requirements for Nepali citizens
Visa Countries121 (61%)
eVisa Countries43 (22%)
Visa-On-Arrival Countries26 (13%)
Visa-Free Countries12 (6%)
eTA Countries2 (1%)

How many countries can Nepali citizens travel to visa-free?

There are 12 countries that offer Nepali citizens visa-free entrance.

This number seems very low compared to most European nations. Nevertheless, it still allows Nepali citizens to travel to some destinations without needing a visa. Most are primarily located in Asia although there are a few dispersed throughout North America as well as Africa.

This means that Nepali citizens can only visit 6% of the world visa-free. Keep reading, to find the list of visa-free countries:

Map of countries Nepali citizens can travel to visa-free
Barbados (90 days)Pakistan (30 days)
Dominica (21 days)Palestinian Territories
Gambia (90 days)Philippines (30 days)
Haiti (90 days)Senegal (90 days)
IndiaSingapore (30 days)
Micronesia (30 days)St. Vincent and the Grenadines (30 days)

Related readings:

How many countries can Nepali citizens visit with a visa on arrival?

Nepali citizens can visit 26 countries with a visa-on-arrival.

When visiting these locations nationals of Nepal can apply for a visa-on-arrival that can be obtained at an airport, seaport, or land border. Nepali citizens in this case are not obliged to apply for a visa before starting their trip. After getting hold of such a visa, travelers are allowed to freely continue on their journey. Of course, their stay should not exceed the validity of the document.

Map of countries Nepali citizens can visit with a visa on arrival

What countries can Nepali citizens go to with a visa on arrival?

Most of the countries that grant a visa-on-arrival to the Nepalis are located in Africa as well as Oceania.

Below you can find a full list of locations that offer entry with a visa on arrival to Nepali citizens together with the number of days it is valid for:

Angola (pre-visa on arrival)Mauritania
Azerbaijan (30 days)Mauritius (60 days)
Bangladesh (30 days)Mozambique (30 days)
Bolivia (90 days)Nigeria (pre-visa on arrival)
Burundi (30 days)Palau (30 days)
Cape Verde (EASE)Rwanda (30 days)
Comoros (45 days)Samoa (60 days)
Egypt (30 days)Sierra Leone (pre-visa on arrival)
Guinea-Bissau (90 days)Somalia (30 days)
Guyana (pre-visa on arrivalTanzania
Laos (30 days)Timor-Leste (30 days)
Madagascar (90 days)Togo (7 days)
Maldives (30 days)Tuvalu (30 days)

How many countries can Nepali citizens visit with an eVisa?

Nepali citizens can visit 43 countries with an eVisa.

An eVisa is an alternative to the regular visa that is granted online to visitors that are traveling for tourism or commerce purposes. If the purpose of your trip is to study or work, you are required to have a regular visa.

Map of countries Nepali citizens can visit with an eVisa

Which countries require Nepali citizens to obtain an eVisa?

Most countries that require an eVisa from Nepali citizens are located in Africa. However, some nations granting an eVisa are based in South America, Asia, Oceania, and Europe.

Below you’ll find a list of all these destinations.

AlbaniaMadagascar (90 days)
Antigua and BarbudaMalawi (90 days)
AustraliaMalaysia (30 days)
BeninMyanmar [Burma]
Bolivia (90 days)Oman
Cambodia (30 days)Rwanda (30 days)
ColombiaSaint Kitts and Nevis
Congo DR (90 days)Sao Tome and Principe
DjiboutiSeychelles (tourist registration, 90 days)
EcuadorSouth Sudan
Ethiopia (90 days)Suriname
Gabon (90 days)Tajikistan
Guinea (90 days)Tanzania
Guinea-Bissau (90 days)Uganda
Iran (30 days)Ukraine
KazakhstanUnited Arab Emirates
Kenya (90 days)Uzbekistan (30 days)
Laos (30 days)Zimbabwe
Lesotho (14 days)

How many countries require Nepali citizens to have a visa to visit?

In total, there are 121 nations where Nepali citizens must apply to obtain a visa before entering.

The requirements for each country vary, and specific details on the procedure can be found on the government’s official website.

Map of countries Nepali citizens are required to have a visa or eTA to visit

What countries require Nepali citizens to get a visa?

Nearly all of the nations that require a visa from inhabitants of Nepal are located in Europe, America, and Africa.

You can find a complete list of the countries that demand a visa from Nepali travelers below. 

BelgiumMarshall Islands
Bosnia and HerzegovinaMongolia
Burkina FasoNauru
CanadaNew Zealand
Central African RepublicNicaragua
ChileNorth Korea
ChinaNorth Macedonia
Costa RicaPanama
CroatiaPapua New Guinea
Czech RepublicPoland
Dominican RepublicRomania
El SalvadorRussian Federation
Equatorial GuineaSaint Lucia
EritreaSan Marino
EstoniaSaudi Arabia
FranceSolomon Islands
GeorgiaSouth Africa
GermanySouth Korea
Hong KongTaiwan
IndonesiaTrinidad and Tobago
ItalyUnited Kingdom
JamaicaUnited States of America
KiribatiVatican City
KuwaitViet Nam

Nepali citizens can travel to 2 countries with an eTA authorization

There are only 2 countries that require an eTA authorization for Nepali citizens. These are the Ivory Coast and Sri Lanka.

An eTA or an Electronic Travel Authorization is an entry requirement that foreigners need to obtain when traveling by air to one of these countries.

It mostly consists of relevant information such as travel and personal information and is automatically connected to the passenger’s passport.

There are only 2 countries that grant this type of entry to Nepali passport holders:

  • Ivory Coast (pre-enrollment, 90 days)
  • Sri Lanka (30 days)

Key takeaway on visa-free countries for Nepali citizens

The Nepali passport is able to grant Nepalis some mobility within Asia without needing a visa. However, if Nepali citizens want to travel to Europe, Africa, America, or Oceania, they would have to get a visa in the majority of cases.

Only 12 nations permit Nepalis to enter without a visa, while 121 nations demand that they have one.

FAQ on visa requirements for Nepali passport holders

How many nations are visa-free for citizens of Nepal?

Passport holders from Nepal can visit 12 nations without a visa, most of which are located in Asia. 

Can citizens of Nepal visit Europe without a visa?

No. Nepali citizens are obliged to have a visa to visit European countries. However, some countries such as Ukraine, Moldova, or Albania offer Nepali citizens the possibility to request an eVisa.

Can Nepalis apply for visas once they are in the country?

Yes, it is known as a visa-on-arrival. It is available to inhabitants of Nepal in 26 nations.